WIPpet Wednesday | Life Slump

It’s Wednesday, which means it’s WIPpet time. Sorry, if I haven’t been around lately. I’m currently in a slump. I’m twenty-five, turning twenty-six next month. I guess, the realization that I’m getting older and not younger sunk in. So, lately some stuff has been eating away at my thoughts. Like: Do I really want to be a writer? Am I motivated enough? Do I have the creative insight? What about designing? Oh, and the business my best friend and I plan to start. What about that?

I have a lot to think about. I’m not sure where to start or how to do it. The weight of it all is crushing me mentally and emotionally.

*sighs deeply*

*inhales and then smiles* I need to think about it and really sort things out. I just need to find point A and until then let’s move on to WIPpet Wednesday. Based off the amazing suggestions from the other WIPpeteers, I called myself editing this week WIPpet. It was a lot harder than I thought, but with practice comes improvement.

Last time, I introduced AJ. She’s pretty much your average rebelling teen. This week, we continue where we left of and AJ confronts her mother. WIPpet math: twelve divided by two, which gives you six paragraphs from chapter three. And I added another one to bring the scene together.


Last night was one of the worst fights AJ had with her mother. Intense, aggressive from both sides. She couldn’t remember exactly why it started but she remembered how it ended vividly. Pinned down on her stomach with her arms spread by two emergency medical technicians. Their serene voices jumbled by her own raging screams. It took every strength she had to wrestle a hand free. She reached out to her mother, begging her to get them off her. But her mother sat on their couch, teary eyed, shaking her head.
AJ bite down on her lip. There was no way her mother felt the way she was blabbing on about. Exhaling loudly through her nose, she forced the animosity she felt for her mother to the back of her thoughts. Bullshit, she told herself. It was all bullshit. Her mother despised her just as she had three years ago. But there was no pointing in arguing, in her mind, her mother was already disowned.
Pushing her hair back, she snapped. “You know, what. Fine.”
AJ’s mother caught her daughter’s wrist the moment AJ reached for the purse. “Stop it. I don’t know what’s gotten into you these past few months, but it ends here. I told you. The Doctors have warned you. If you don’t take this medicine, you will die, AJ.”
“So let me!” AJ snatched her wrist from her mother and stepped back. “Honestly, it will be better for the both of us.”
“AJ, don’t you dare.” Her mother’s bottom lip trembled.
AJ knew the friction would only intense between them. The more time she spent there bickering with her mother the less time she had to be away from her. “I said, I’ll take it.”

Again, I am all about improvements. If you spot an area where I could improve in and would like to help me out. Feel free; make yourself comfortable.

Want to join in on the fun? Click this >>> HELLO 🙂 ink your excerpt.

Until the next post, happy reading and writing.

10 Comments on “WIPpet Wednesday | Life Slump

  1. Girl, we should totally chat. Let me tell you, you’re not alone. I am almost 30. (OMG). Both my husband and I are at a point in our lives where our careers of choice are not panning out. He doesn’t know what to do. I think I know what to do but I’m probably just saying that lol. I love writing. But he doesn’t support me, which kinda sucks. I do it anyway. Everyone goes through this thought process of “what am i going to do with the rest of my life? Am I making the right decisions?” I wanted to teach. I have a BA in lib studies and went into the teaching credential program…and failed out of it. That is a messy story in and of itself. Now, I don’t know if I want to waste another year and thousands of dollars more on trying again at a different University. So I write. Partly also, b/c I crashed my car and can’t work anyway.
    If you want talk more, shoot me an email, or facebook me 🙂

    • I am so glad that I am not alone. It sounds like we have a lot in common in more ways than one. We shall be chatting very soon. 🙂

  2. About your excerpt: there are some typos. It’s a good picture of what’s going on otherwise. “every strength” should be “every ounce of strength”. “Intense” should be “Intensify”.I was a bit confused as to what happened between the first 2 paragraphs and the line that says “Pushing her hair back…” I see she’s remembering last night’s fight, but where is she now? Give a bit of an idea of where she’s at while she’s talking to her mom and about to leave the house. Otherwise, I really like the excerpts. AJ is an interesting character that appears to have a very complicated past and that makes me want to know more. I like how you handled the mother, too. You subtly let the reader know that the mother is really worried and just trying to help her daughter out, even though AJ clearly doesn’t see it that way. That’s exactly what you need to do. Great 🙂

    • If you could see me, you’ll probably laugh, but I’m doing the happy dance in my chair. Honestly, it would have taken me months to catch those and figure out a solution. I am still training my brain. These are great points. I tend to forget that the reader only knows what I allow them to. If I don’t apply enough, they’ll become lost. I still have a lot to learn and eager to know more. Thank you. 🙂

      • No problem. A professional editor really helped me out. I couldn’t afford a whole manuscript edit though 😦 I’m not a professional bit I have written 4 full length manuscripts. You get better just by writing. Take all comments in stride too. Sometimes you have to dwell on things a while before you know how to fix it. I wish you luck in whatever you do. Hopefully we can keep in touch 🙂

  3. Aw, don’t feel bad about getting a year older and not knowing what you want yet. I didn’t start writing for real until I was in my mid 30s! I turned 40 this year, and I’m finally doing what I love. 🙂

    Nice snippet. I really want to know where all the hostility between AJ and her mom came from before this scene. (Oh, and I have an AJ too—but he’s a guy.)

    • Thank you! It’s been tough adjusting to a lot, especially since I have goal to find a purpose. I know, your AJ seems to be going through some time too in the snippet.

  4. Oh man. Tough situation! I’m not sure how I’m meant to feel as a reader, though. Right now I’m sorry for the whole situation, but I don’t have a distinct impression of the characters. I think you could go deeper with your point of view narrative. Really get into AJ’s head and take the reader there with you. The situation is there – I can tell the emotions are running extremely high!

Leave a Reply

