Is it wrong to share your life concerns with Facebook?

The other day, someone very close to me posted a relationship question on Facebook. A common question that many post. However, what if that person was your mom and the person she was talking about was your dad.

Would the topic all of sudden get personal?

Yes and No.

Yes, because it’s about MY parents and I, personally don’t want others in their business. If my parents makes a decisions , I rather they do so from their own conscious. And No, because they have their own life and free to do whatever they please with it. But as a parent, isn’t all your actions reflect in some way to your children? Honestly, I think so, because a part of me is still hurting for something that happened many years ago with my parents.

In the past, I use to post anything and everything on Facebook. I didn’t care who saw it as long as someone did. I used to believe that my Facebook friends were all good people . Not saying that it isn’t true, but, we all know there are more “nosey” people than there are good.

My definition of a nosey person is someone who intentionally reaches out in hopes of finding out what’s bothering the person then share that information to others. Instead of providing advice, they pretend to be friendly to know your predicament and then spread your business around. A nosey person is usually someone close; a friend, a family member, or maybe even an acquaintance. They purposely lurk social media to fish out juicy information. Normally they have their own agenda and half the time they don’t see it as wrong.

After all, I did post it online. So that means I wanted it out, right?

Ummm, yea and no?

Yes, whatever I type and post is my own decisions and I do want others with interest to view. No. I don’t want people to belittle whatever I post. But the funny thing about that is some people do. We have all witnessed a post taken out of context and contorted. Elucidated across social media. I for one am against this type of behavior, especially if it proves no justice. If it’s not helping someone find a good home from an abusive and/or neglectful person(s) or bringing to light some sort of injustice, I don’t want to see it. I’ll just boot negativity right off my feed. I’m not a bystander to negativity but I also know when my voice isn’t reaching anyone.

If you ever saw the movie Unfriended or have been in a similar situation, then you’ll understand exactly what I mean. Some of the things people do to each other is cruel and not right. I have witnessed and undergone similar situations a few times in my life.

It is okay to post whatever you want on social media. But I think a lot of people forget that some stuff just doesn’t belong online. And anything life changing that you are questionable about or have doubts, in my opinion, doesn’t need to be fully detail on social media (unless you are in a group that supports that kind of thing, but even so…)  Many people believe the stuff people comment and post. Taking whatever said personal. Honestly, you have to take social media with a grain of salt. What is typed, is just that. You can’t really tell the emotion or tone of a comment. Yes, all caps to many, including myself, means either excitement or anger. Either the person is elated about something or they are so upset they want to jump through the screen and punch you one good time in the eye. Had that feeling before too. Some people just don’t give a damn. I believe that some people will sit behind their screen and browse through their newsfeed, reading the post and comments. When they come across one that is, hmm what’s the word I’m looking for…. Conflicting…. to their beliefs and views of life they attack the person. Some don’t even read the posts before of why the person feels the way or done what they have done.

Again, don’t get me wrong. There are a lot of assholes too out there who may deserve it. What I’m trying to say is that people should think a little more before posting life questions that can actually impact their life. Sometimes taking personal advice like that from a thousand strangers compared to one person who’s been there for you is a lot risker. Not only for yourself, but for your family too. Isn’t it stressful enough when we have to deescalate family drama? I know for me it is. No one wants to live their life always arguing over who said what.

Unless you like that stuff… and that’s all I’m going to say about that…

Moving on… I also know it’s a little easier to get suck into that vortex. To everyone reading, be careful what you post. I wouldn’t want anyone to experience that kind of stress with social media, especially since our lives are entangled with it nowadays.

3 Comments on “Is it wrong to share your life concerns with Facebook?

  1. Facebook can serve its purpose, but personally I’ve taken a big step backwards from it now. And I tell my teenagers to be careful what they post.

    • I learned the hard way when it comes to Facebook. You’re right, it has a purpose and a lot of people don’t understand that. I don’t have any teens yet, my babies are still young, but I plan to educate them. When it comes to online, precaution can be your friend.

      • Absolutely agree with you. Education on the right and safest way to use FB is the best way.

Leave a Reply

