Summer, No Thank You

For the past week or so I have been laying in bed desperately grasping for air. No joke. My daughter got a little cold which she then transferred the kiss of death to her lovely mother. The reason I call it the kiss of death because unlike my lovely daughter who got over her cold within days, I struggled for over a week. The cold itself wasn’t the issue. If you have any asthma related symptoms then you can imagine what I went through. The cold burrowed its way into my lungs and for the first time, after having asthma my entire life, I felt like someone was holding a plastic bag over my head. It literally felt like an elephant was standing on my chest. Imagine a whole week and half feeling like this. It was pretty darn horrible.

I’m much better now. I have few light, annoying, headaches. But other than that I’m golden. Writing has been my best friend lately. Really excited about that. I’m not sure how I can describe my progress. I guess you can say that I made a breakthrough. Tellus, the fantasy novel similar in the style of George R.R. Martin’s Games of Thrones is just as complex. Games of Thrones was the first book that inspired me to think outside of the box. I have always been able to come up with bizarre stories but this is one story that I actually think if I put forth a lot of dedication that one day it can become something. In a way, I guess everyone have similar dreams and goals. Have to go big, right? Set goals that will allow you to push yourself even if that goal or dream seems unrealistic. You never know how life will turn out. I’ve learned never to settle for minimum. Never. It’s my mind’s way of telling me that I will never be better than what I’m currently am. And I know that’s not true. My goal is to complete the first draft by July 10. I started on the rewrite on paper instead of typing it. This helps me focus and not stroll around on Facebook.

So, summer definitely feels like it is here in Oklahoma. The highest is around eighty-five maybe ninety, but it feels much hotter. I’m planning to spend summer inside writing. I’ve already talked to my son and my fiancé. If they want to venture out into this heat while the sun is blazing, go right ahead. However, if they want me to join in any activities it must be planned earlier in the day or when the sun is down. It’s too darn humid and hot for me. It’s so hot that flowers I see one day literally is withered the next. My dad says that they are blooming earlier which defines a really hot summer. Again, not looking forward to it at all.

I usually don’t talk about t.v. shows but after the season finale of Bates Motel, my favorite, I have been looking for others. And I have found it. Mr. Robot, which seems pretty awesome, premiers June 24th on USA Network. As one who loves to write about the twisted personality of others this is right up my alley. I don’t plan to talk about it much but I do plan to tell you guys how excited I am about watching it. Same goes for the anime I have been watching, not going to go into detail but I will announce excitedly if I conjure up some ideas I can implant into my stories.

This summer will be the season of productivity and sun burns. Haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

