Morning Call | Developing Worlds – Clidel

Title: Morning Call

Location: In Photographer’s Home

Date Taken: April 6, 2015

Photographer: K.S. Norton

Lens: Nokia Lumia Refocus

It’s been a busy week. Started a part-time a job and the results haven’t been agreeing with my body. I’m thinking it’s because my body isn’t used to standing for hours straight without rest, expect a ten minute break and even then I’m standing (no chairs).

The good news is I have developed a new story idea from my daughter’s toy rubber ducks, which I am excited to write. I always wonder how people tackled more than one project and I think I figured it out. As I’m developing the world for one story I can be writing another or at least starting the outline. So, that’s what I have been doing or plan to do.

Developing Worlds (previously used in a Full Sail Course)

I like the title developing worlds because it gets right to the point. Technically I am developing the world I have created. The world I have been evolving is from the series Tellus. I am focusing on the history and background of one of the main settings in the story, the orphanage Clidel, where many of the main characters meet and interacted in some way. I’m also thinking about changing the title to something fitting the beginning stages. The first books is where everyone starts to figure out something about their life isn’t right or something has gone drastically wrong that the character takes action, which basically is the start of their journey. I’m still working out the kinks, though.

So far I have done several sketches, a lot of them were a bunch of scribbles that even I couldn’t make out. However, two of them manage to come out to my liking. One of them is the blueprint of the orphanage, Clidel. The place is fairly vast. I want to make sure that I am at least giving the reader a general idea of how this orphanage looks and how the characters get around. It was fun using my artistic ability. I haven’t drew in a long time. 

Here’s a rough sketch of the orphanage from a frontal point.

*note: Tellus is heavily influence by Greek culture, many of their architectures incorporate Greek structures. After several of days of researching architectures I started to favor more into the Victorian era too. Personally I think the architectures are beautifully built. In this drawing there is both Greek and Victorian style.

 

Scanner decided to cut off top, not sure why.

Scanner decided to cut off top, not sure why.

I’m not keen for long posts so I’ll end it here. Let me know what you think of the sketch!  Its noon here and I have less than three hours to get ready for work and still have to work out. Until the next post everyone, Happy Writing and Reading!

Leave a Reply

