Thump

It boils within me.

Like a flame under a pot of crimson.

Why do you taunt me?

Why do you say such words that break my barrier?

Am I at fault?

Is this pericing darkness surrounding me, my own doing?

Like a lost sock wanting its pair, I too search for my other half buried within your jealously.

I place a hand over my chest, and feel my heart thump against it.

I am alive.

And yet the only sensation I seem to muster is rage, confusion, and sorrow.

Angry, that I allowed you to take my heart.

Perplexed, of the weary conflicts that pans out daily.

Sadden, because I know you are the one I dare not leave…

But as this story ends…

So does ours.

Leave a Reply

