Stronghold

It was the sudden rush that tossed me to the side.

The little ripples of your lies as they build those waves.

Casting about until finally they flooded everything we have built.

Now only lies our foundation…

The last remnants of our stronghold.

I stand there, drenched and trembling surrounded by broken promises,

Looking into those eyes that forced the biggest tidal wave upon us.

And what was your response…?

…I’m sorry…

A faint smile lifted on one side of my face.

I thought to myself… With a hand out reached, accepting your lie once more…

How many tsunamis before our castle will finally hold or before I wash along with it?

Leave a Reply

