Writing Stand Still

It would be so awesome if I could post an excerpt of any of my current work in progress today. Now days I have a better chance with a headache than writing. Staring aimlessly at the blinking course is not really helping much either. Exercise? I have that down. Writing? I’m gritting teeth.

There’s something I’m missing. A gap, a huge one too, between my story and characters. It doesn’t feel authentic. Each time I sit to write the first chapter the few sentences I muster becomes nothing but nonsense. Repetitive ramblings.

Which lets me know  that I have yet to grasp the world I’ve created. All I have is its  skeletons and even that is scarce. So, I’m taking a step back, going over everything with a fine comb. A scene or setting should be described with such detail and vividness that it’s as if I stepped out my front door into the shoes of my character.

I have a long ways to go. Right now, I’m redefining each clan. There are a total of seven, not including the lesser clans. One of the great things about attending school is that one learns new ways to approach a problem. With each course I was given a new perspective how to develop my story and character. I saved many of those documents, especially the ones about world and character building and plots, basically anything pertaining to strengthening a story.

I thought it would be a great idea to share some of that knowledge. Each step I take, the closer I  get to writing the novel I’m proud of. There’s going to be a lot more posts, mainly tailoring to the creations of worlds, settings, and character building. During this process I’ll be bouncing between two works in progress, Tellus and Second Life, making sure to distinguish between the two. As I share my own revelations and pitfalls I share the process, the questions asked and so on.

I hope you can take at least one thing from my sharing in hopes it broadens your own novel or short story. Watch out for those updates, which I will post sporadically.

The pages are still blank, but there is a miraculous feeling of the words being there, written in invisible ink and clamoring to become visible. ~Vladimir Nabakov

Leave a Reply

