Kawaii Doyoubi – Lesson Six – Time

Konnichiwa mina!

It’s Saturday, which means another awesome dose of Japanese. But first I want to say a couple of things; I’m no way a pro of this beautiful language. You can call me an avid enthusiast but that’s pretty much it. Japanese is something that will always be a part of me and is one of the reasons why I love to share. Plus all the lessons that I’ve shared I’ve proudly mastered. Secondly, I want to apologize for last week’s no post. A lot happened, concerning my two wonderful but troublesome children and I was in full mommy mode for a while. Occasionally I wrote a post or two and shared some seething motivational quotes.

Now, on to today’s lesson. The week before last we went over numbers. You know, the basics. Today I plan to expand on that lesson with time. I’m going to integrate two lessons in one, that way we’ll see the time in an awesome example. Kokkuri-san and Inugami from the comedy anime series Gugure! Kokkuri-san will be our awesome chibi guidance as we go through this lesson.

Anime Tid-Bid

Kokkuri-sanThis adorable yellow fox is also a handsome white-haired stud (you know, for a character)._eNzig1tu

Same can be said about this cute purple hamster (not really sure if he’s is a hamster, though).

TIME DIALOGUE

Time Dialogue

 

To be able to tell time you have to at least know the numbers one through ten in Japanese. Once you’ve mastered that you’re pretty much good to go.

WHAT is… Important Need to Know’s

The -Ji  in nanji is the suffix for hours or o’clock…

And han means half, as in half past the hour. An example 12:30 in Japanese would be juuniji han desu.

Desu is…

a copula: a word that links the subject of a sentence with the verb.  A close English approximation of this would be the words “this (that, he, she, it, etc) is” unless it’s coupled with an adjective or a verb. Regardless of how it is used, its main function is to end sentences intended to be a statement. Due to the grammatical structure in Japanese, desu and verb tenses are used at the end of a sentence or phrase. (ex. “This is Sushi” would be translated into “Kore wa sushi desu.” and “I like Sushi” would be “Sushi ga suki desu”) (definition credit to knowyourmeme.com)

 Breaking  Down Romaji

Nanji desu ka.

what time is it?

TIME CLOCKS

Time

2 Comments on “Kawaii Doyoubi – Lesson Six – Time

Leave a Reply

