WIPpet Wednesday and Splash of Crazy

And let us blow the horns and drum the drums for WIPpet Wednesday, and yes I did just say it like that. 😊

How’s everyone’s week? Mine? Well…

I opened my big mouth and being generous assisted my niece’s father could stay away with us for a while. Now, I know what you’re thinking, what the *bleep* is wrong with her?

It sounds just utterly wrong now that I’m reading over it myself. However, it is not that case, I bullcrap you not, my fellow friends. When my vocal organs decided to operate on their own will, my thought process was steadily in motion. It was all for the greater good, I thought. In the past when the times were hard for little ol’ me I had to stay with my sister and he was her boyfriend back then. Of course after a while I had to get my own one-room sanctuary. Because two sisters and their boyfriends’ under a same two bedroom apartment with a three year-old is oh so fun. But that’s another story for another time.

Back to the current week; by letting him stay, lets just the utilities for the next month may be higher than normal. It’s strange because the way he’s acting now is like doing a 180 from what he was then. Although, it has been two years, hmm. BUT still, there’s no reason for keeping the lights on while you leave the room, especially the house. Geesh.

Other than that splash of life, I think my week is great 😊

Onward to WIPpet Wednesday

So, I have shared an intro to each of the protagonist; Muà, Xantara, Eris, and Alastair. I hope you guys enjoyed each of their excerpts. Since I’m still working on the novel, (yes, I’m a slow hand maiden), we’ll just keep following Alastair and Randolph.

Alastair gets a visit from his cousin, his mother’s sister’s daughter.

For simple math it will be the date subtracted by the month which gives you twenty paragraphs. Enjoy!

(21-1=20)

The door creaked open. Alastair averted his eye from his tome toward the library’s entrance. He waited. When no one came through he nudged his companion with his foot who was sleeping soundly at the end of the large cushioned window seat.

The wolf yawned, a tear streaming down the side of his face. “You call.” Alastair’s head was still down in his tome. The wolf glanced over the book’s cover; entwined knots, making a supporting tree. At the bottom a scripture he never saw written in the language of old. He squinted just as Alastair cleared his throat. Randolph quickly turned to the boy, Alastair’s eyes averting toward the door. “As you wish, I see that tome is an importance to you.”

The wolf jumped from the cushion and paced toward the door, he pressed his head against the frame, opening it larger. Small hands wrapped around him, squeezing. “Wolfee.”

He turned to Alastair and sighed. “It master’s Carinthia’s niece.”

Alastair sighed back in resonance, placing the tome beside him. His mother seemed to volunteer yet again to watch over her sister’s child. Yet in following of her acceptance she leaves the girl. This was no surprise to him since it happens at least three setting moons. He widened the opening of the door with one hand and the other at his side. “Sylecia.”

“Ale!”

He cringed, then reached down and picked the girl up. When she steady in his arms, he ran his hand roughly through her hair. “I have told you about that label.”

She giggled, wrapping her arms around his neck. “Yessss. But aunty Carina calls you such a name, why can’t I?” She pouted, her bottom lip puffed out.

Alastair held her close, squinting with a playful expression. Sylecia followed. Her eyes were the same as his mother’s; clear as the waves of the deep-sea. He pressed her head against his chest with a smirk.

“Hey,” Syleica muffled.

Dammit, he thought to himself. He loathed that label more than anything. But for someone who look as much as his mother, it was almost impossible to say no. He pulled her back. “Very well, but you must promise me to never speak of it in the eyes of the public.”

She shook her head, her ringlets bouncing about. “I promise.”

“Good. Now, what do you want to do? I’m sure my mother has left to do some errands.”

“I want toooo…” Sylecia cocked her head to the side, her eyes glancing over at the stack of tomes that surrounded the cushion window seat. “Did I disturb your readings? Aunty said,” she placed a finger on her cheek, squinting. “Aw, I remember. She said, “‘you’re loneliness will be the end of you.’ And it’s my job to fill it.”

“Oh, she did.” The thought was always at the back of his mind. It was like his mother to look out for him even in the littlest concerns. He smiled. “I see. So, what shall we do?”

“I want to play house.”

Did he hear the correct words? “House?”

She nodded. “Mmhm. I want to be the mommy and you the papa, okay?”

Alastair was taken back. What could he say to a request from such an adorable face? No? But that would make him syndical, after all he had asked. Then yes? It could work but he heard rumors of his relative’s ways of playing house and they were not something the eyes should witness, especially with one of such age. His eyes averted to the flooring, his broaden smile shrunk one-sided. “Well…”

And there you have it, awesome peeps. If you want to hop along with the fun of WIPpet Wednesday; write an excerpt of your current work in progress, making sure it somehow relates to the date and then link it up here for everyone else to see your awesomeness and don’t forget to visit all the other WIPpeteers.

8 Comments on “WIPpet Wednesday and Splash of Crazy

  1. Awww. What is it about guys with kids that’s just so sweet? Little ones do seem to turn even the toughest into marshmallows. 🙂

  2. Aww. Uncles can be awesome. 🙂 My kids love their uncle. 🙂 And I like that Alastair seems to hold his mother in esteem, even if she does stick him with the babysitting. 🙂

    Just something: It looks like you got attacked by spell check a few times.There are places where the word is spelled correctly, but it’s not the right usage. :-/ Happens to me from time to time, so I’ve learned to keep an eye out for it. 😉

    • Uncles are fun until they run out their welcome. Alastair ideals his mom a lot. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll fix that up right now. 😊

  3. Ah yes, unfortunately the same thing happens to Aunts. One nit, ” When no one came through he nudged his companion with his foot who was sleeping soundly at the end of the large cushioned window seat.” the way this sentence is worded, it sounds as though his foot is the one sleeping on the seat. 😉 Which happens to me every time I curl up with a good book.

    • It does! Hehe, thank you for catching that. I’ll change it and make sure to note when it’s time to edit. Appreciate it 🙂

  4. Sylecia is cute, I like her! Somehow I could just *hear* her say “Wolfee”. And Alastair’s interaction with her and his shyness are both just too adorable for words.

  5. Very sweet. I like Alistair a lot here. We’re getting to see a very different side of him than the getting himself whacked upside the head angle.

    Maybe love for small children will summon forth his powers? =)

Leave a Reply

