Kawaii Doyoubi – Lesson 1 – Greetings

Minasan Konnichiwa! (Hello Everybody)

Today is Saturday, which I am now dedicating as Kawaii Doyoubi (Cute Saturday)

Why cute Saturday? Well, I adore the Japanese word for cute, Kawaii and today is Saturday of course. So why not?

The Japanese language has always been beautiful to me and the characters are terribly cute. Watching them form into phrases and sentences is like watching art come to life.

Now that you know my crazy reasons for the name I chose, let’s get to the point with today’s post. As I stated before I’ve been trying to incorporate learning Japanese to my everyday routine. It’s been a little tough with the unexpectedness of life popping up here and there. But I think I managed and found an effective way for me to continue my education learning a second language and still be able to do what I need and love such as blogging and writing.

Every Saturday there will be a small lesson. Nothing major. A few phrases and/or words with images to match. As of right now, all my postings of word phases will only be in hiragana and not kanji. Kanji is a more advance way of reading Japanese. I am a beginner and I like to keep to the easy stuff, although it is strongly recommended to learn both hiragana and Japanese characters at the same time or shortly after one another. It makes the language much easier to learn since kanji is more an update form of the language. Single words and characters will be displayed in both kanji and hiragana so the difference can be shown. The word will still be pronounced the same just written differently (there are some exceptions, but will discuss on a later date).

I would like to also mention I am no way or form a teacher or an expert of this language. What I post is from my own experience as a student and devoted being of the language. However, I do research words/phrases from different sources to make sure it is correct and have a copy of Genki second edition: an integrated course in elementary Japanese. This is a learning process for me as well and I hope we can grow together with each lesson.

Lesson 1 – Greetings

Greetings are fun to learn and I feel they are simple. It did not take me long to learn the basic greetings for hello. Hello in Japan, can be said in three ways. They have a way for saying hello in the morning, the afternoon, and the evening. Today I will demonstrate and provide all three in their hiragana, romaji (English written) and the actual English definition format.

Slide1 Slide2 Slide3  That’s it for today’s post. I hope you enjoyed because I had a blast! If you have any suggestions or comments feel free to post below. Until next time keep writing or reading mina!

4 Comments on “Kawaii Doyoubi – Lesson 1 – Greetings

  1. That’s cool! Our languages my be spoken differently but we are still alike in a lot of ways. We say Good morning, good afternoon and good evening.

  2. Pingback: Kawaii Doyoubi – Lesson 2 – Alphabet | Hi, I am Sam! Or K.S, Maybe Both

  3. Pingback: Kawaii Doyoubi – Lesson 3 – Greetings Part II | Hi, I am Sam! Or K.S, Maybe Both

Leave a Reply

